July 7th 2018:

Perfect pristine weather allowed for an impeccable Andresen Racing Photography Camera Night at Bethel Motor Speedway this past Saturday as fans were invited out on the speedway and got up close to the cars and drivers. Many of the race teams were giving away items and signing autographs to the delighted and eager fans. On the track, the racing was fierce with many top guns adding to their feature win totals, a winning streak was finally stopped along with other new drivers finding Victory Lane.

Extreme Kleaner Sportsman feature action found rookie Chris Cook jumping out to the early lead but quickly found himself pursued by veteran racer Rich Coons. On Lap 3, Coons made an exciting pass to take the lead from Cook but current point leader Ed Dachenhausen followed Coons and took the second position. Dachenhausen then made an inside charge on Coons several laps later and took over the lead. As Dachenhausen checked out, long time hotshoe Rick Mill came up through the pack and began a multi lap battle with Coons for second position. At the halfway mark, Mill proved to have the horses and pulled away from Coons out of turn two to take second position. Mill then spent the remainder of the race trying to close the large gap that the leader
Dachenhausen created. It was too little, too late for Mill as he just began challenging Dachenhausen with the dual checkers flying. Dachenhausen powered his Brookside Glass # 18 to his third win of the season by half a car length over the fast closing Mill. Coons picked up a strong third place finish.

Mike Dutka, a longtime racer but rookie in the Interstate Battery Asphalt Modifieds appeared destined for his first victory of the season as he took control of the lead at the drop of the green. The first half of the race Dutka was hitting his marks and clicking the laps off despite heavy pressure from current point leader Wayne Kirkpatrick. At the halfway mark the Dutka machine started to get loose in the corners which allowed Kirkpatrick to hound the leader even more. With five laps to go, Kirkpatrick made a brazen move to the inside of Dutka in turn two as Dutka slipped ever slightly up the track. Going into the following turn 3, Dutka dove to the inside of Kirkpatrick to recapture the lead and his move also allowed Stephen Kammer to cram into second position as well. However, Kirkpatrick unwavered and charged his way back past Kammer one lap later and began to hunt down Dutka. On Lap 18, Dutka got loose in turn two and
Kirkpatrick made his move on the inside as he took his Active Motorsports # 25 into the lead going down the backstretch and nailed down his second feature win of the season over the determined Dutka. Stephen Kammer took home his best finish of the season in third.

INEX Legends racing found an all Verwys front row with Sean jumping out to the early lead. S. Verwys continued to lead despite a relentless Eugene Drew battling him for the lead during the first half of the race. At the halfway point, Drew spun coming off turn 4 while challenging for the lead and resulted in the caution to come out. On the restart, S. Verwys powered ahead and continued to lead but now had a new contender with current point leader Mike Policastro. Policastro stayed glued to Verwys preying on any slip up by the sophomore driver. On Lap 17, that slip happened in turn 2 and Policastro capitalized with an inside swing and took the lead down the backstretch. Policastro was able to fend off the remaining challenges by S. Verwys to take home his third feature win of the year by half a car length over S. Verwys. Matt Maring came across in third place.

Fan Favorite, Larry O’Donnell cruised to an emotional victory to pick up his second win of the season in the Interstate Battery Pro Stocks with much applause from those in attendance. A returning past champion, Bob Policastro took home a strong second but was unable to mount a charge on the Tri Counties Auto #5 of O’Donnell. Longtime pro stock racer John Rood finished a stout third place despite being a rookie on Bethel’s pavement.

The fan favorite Shakelton Auto Parts Street Stock feature found longtime versatile driver Jeff Hager taking the lead on an outside charge in the early race laps. On Lap 3, a turn four tangle found the yellow coming out. On the restart, Hager continued to lead over rookie Dan Houghtaling and top gun Walt Henry. Lap 5 found the yellow coming out again but when racing went green, the action amped up as Hager and Henry dashed it out for the lead coming out of turn two. The two drivers dragged each other down the backstretch with Henry outmaneuvering Hager going into turn 3 and claimed the lead. It was smooth sailing for Henry the rest of the race as Kyle Welsch battled Hager for second for several laps before claiming sole possession at the halfway point.
Welsch then was in the hunt for the leader Henry but quickly ran out of time to reel him in. Henry cruised to his third feature win of the season in the JBM Truck Repair # 171 over Welsch and hard charging Bill Deak Jr. claiming third place by race end.

Four Cylinder feature racing found an eigth different winner in as many events as enduro guru David Donovan captured his first feature victory of the season. Donovan led all twenty laps but had to contend with last week’s feature winner Dan Curry. Donovan had the winning beat as he proved to be the best on this night and took home his first win of the season over D. Curry and a returning Eddie Jones Jr. who came home in third.

Bandoleros saw young gun Garrett Zacharias coming to town and put a stop to the long feature win streak of the gamechanger Mike Roth. Zacharias capitalized on his front row starting position and put on a flawless drive despite pressure by Roth. At the checkers, it was Zacharias picking up his first win of the season over Roth and a hard charging Joey Aungst to finish third.

Beginner Bandolero action found Monica Deckelman collecting her second win in a row after a lengthy battle with young guns Kaden Rogers and Ty Smith. The young Deckelman proved to be unshakeable and was destined for her second career feature victory.

Results :

Sportsman Feature : 1. Ed Dachenhausen, Danbury CT 2. Rick Mill 3. Rich Coons 4. Dan Dulin 5. Chris Cook 6. Jerry Curry DNS. Matt Curry

Modified Feature: 1. Wayne Kirkpatrick, Washingtonville, NY 2. Mike Dutka 3. Stephen Kammer 4. Scott Quick 5. Tyler Dachenhausen DNS. John Cote

Legends Feature: 1. Mike Policastro, Cortland Manor, NY 2. Sean Verwys 3. Matt Maring 4. Eugene Drew 5. Jeffrey Lefcourt 6. Pat Verwys

Pro Stock Feature: 1. Larry O’Donnell, Monticello, NY 2. Bob Policastro 3. John Rood 4. Porter Crawson 5. Ed Butler DNS. Ray Tarantino

Street Stock Feature: 1. Walt Henry, Walden, NY 2. Kyle Welsch 3. Bill Deak Jr. 4. Bill Deak Sr. 5. Joel Murns 6. Jeff Hager 7. Corey Stanton 8. Jessica Ricci 9. Dan Houghtaling 10. Brian Bauerfeind 11. Phil Funcheon

Four Cylinder Feature: 1. David Donovan, Neversink, NY 2. Dan Curry 3. Eddie Jones Jr. 4. Richard Smith 5. Cody Houghtaling 6. Cliff Levinson 7. Brent Shaddock 8. Tisha Curry 9. Jeff DeGroat 10. Felicia Reichenbaugh 11. Tabitha Riordan 12. George VanAken 13. Brandon Conklin 14. Mike Doherty 15. Anthony Tarantino

Bandolero Feature: 1. Garrett Zacharias, Newark Valley, NY 2. Mike Roth 3. Joey Aungst 4. Evan Rygielski 5. Katie Verwys 6. Nick Archiere 7. Justin Aungst 8. Joey Lamontagne 9. Brian Rygielski

Beginner Bandos: 1. Monica Deckelman, Fremont Center, NY 2. Kaden Rogers 3. Ty Smith 4. Leland Oefelein